Stalking or Research: Understanding “Who’s Viewed My Profile” On LinkedIn
A common point of controversy and concern for LinkedIn users: To show, or not to show.
We are talking about when you view LinkedIn profiles. And with the “give-to-get” settings LinkedIn recently put in place, they aren’t helping us decide either… so what to do? Here are some things to think about…
When you DO show people you’ve viewed LinkedIn profiles:
- You will be able to view who’s checked you out (some people call this “stalking” – we like to call it “research”). And technically you will only be able to see what the viewer allows you to see per their privacy settings.
- Most of the time you can expect them to respond to your view by looking at yours. Is your profile ready for that?
- You’ll probably forget you have the setting turned on. Do you snoop around a lot on LinkedIn?
When you DO NOT show you’ve viewed LinkedIn Profiles:
- Unless you upgrade your account, you won’t be able to see who’s checking you out.
- You’re missing out on targeted profile traffic. If your profile is sharp and your views are “safe”, why not send that person back to your profile?
- You’ll drive people crazy. Everyone wants to know who the anonymous profile viewer is.
The best way to decide is to step back and look at your activity on LinkedIn… chances are it’s defined by what you do professionally, so take that into consideration. If you’re a CEO checking out competitors, you might want to keep this setting off. If you’re a sales rep or recruiter with a sexy LinkedIn profile, there can be lots of upside in sending that person back to check out your profile. So what’s it gonna be?