Blog

by Emily Rittenberg
on April 9, 2013

Disconnecting to Enhance Your LinkedIn Network

Building your best network on LinkedIn is not about quantity, it is about quality.

As the lead Social Business Specialist here at PeopleLinx, I am always asked questions about best practices for network building and maintenance. Here is one of the questions that I hear most frequently, which was also one of the first questions I fielded last week during my presentation to women entrepreneurs and business owners at the Her Corner Speaker Series:

Will my connections know when I disconnect from them on LinkedIn?

Lucky for all of us, the answer is NO — disconnecting with someone on LinkedIn will not alert them to the adjustment.

And as a best practice, you should actively clean up your network to include only strong connections by removing those who do not add value. So the question then becomes: what is the definition of “value”?

Well, only you can decide that. I often counsel our clients to employ our KVN Method for deciding if they should make or keep a connection on LinkedIn:

If the answer is “no” to one or more of these question – then they probably can’t help you very much.

So why bother disconnecting? There is a misconception that massive networks of weak ties are good and at PeopleLinx we couldn’t disagree more. Large networks create noise, negatively skew search results, and equally as important — weaken the confidence level of your network that you can actually help them!

With that in mind, you should know that it is actually quite common for people to be connected to others whom they don’t know. Most people are not formally trained in best practices for LinkedIn and many people have actually been told the opposite – to build a big network.

Whether it is that LinkedIn Open Networker (LION) or that random person you met a tradeshow you are bound to find someone in your list of connections who is a complete stranger. LinkedIn is all about building relationships, but it is important to build a network of people you know or have interacted with before. As a best practice, clean out your network 1 or 2 times per year to weed out those connections you don’t know. In conjunction with that action, upload your email contacts 1 or 2 times/year as you are always emailing new people that may be valuable to your network.

How to Disconnect:

1. Click “Connections” in the Contacts drop down menu

2. In the upper right-hand corner, you will see the option to Add Connections or Remove Connections. Click Remove Connections.

3. Scroll through one-by-one or select a bunch and then remove

Click this link to get started!